Archive for the ‘Sen. Charlie Laster’ Category

Senate Democrats Choose Laster As President Pro Tempore Designee

March 2, 2007

Senate Co-Floor Leader Charlie Laster announced Wednesday that he has been selected the designee of the Senate Democratic Caucus to become the next President Pro Tem of the Oklahoma State Senate.

Laster, D-Shawnee, said he secured the support of a majority of his Democratic colleagues in the Senate Tuesday. Laster will succeed Senate President Pro Tempore Mike Morgan, when the current Senate leader leaves office in November 2008.

“I am honored and humbled by the confidence Senate Democrats have shown in me,” Laster said. “These are the most talented and dedicated men and women with whom I’ve ever had the chance to serve and I am looking forward to working with them to return the Senate to Democratic control in 2009.”
Following the November 2006 elections, membership in the Senate is tied with 24 Democrats and 24 Republicans. Under an agreement announced in December, the two parties are sharing power in the 51st Oklahoma Legislature.

Laster said he will be working closely with Senator Tom Adelson, D-Tulsa, to form a strong team to lead the Democratic Caucus in the future. Adelson will continue his work in leadership in the appropriations process. Adelson is currently co-chairman of the Senate Appropriations Sub-Committee on Health and Social Services and co-vice chairman of the Appropriations Committee.

Laster was elected to the Senate in a special election in January 2003. He served as chairman of the Senate Judiciary Committee during the 50th Oklahoma Legislature in 2004-2005. Morgan, D-Stillwater, selected Laster to serve as Democratic floor leader earlier this year.